The living beings that coexist in an ecosystem maintain different links according to their nutrition, positioning themselves as producers, consumers or decomposers depending on the case. Organisms that share the same type of diet, in this way, occupy a certain trophic level.

More specifically, we can establish that there are five major trophic levels:
-The food producers, which are the living beings that carry out photosynthesis, as would be the case with plants.
-Primary consumers. They are also called herbivores and have the peculiarity that they feed on vegetables.
-The secondary consumers, who respond, in the same way, to the name of carnivores. They are animals that feed on primary consumers.
-Tertiary consumers. These we can establish that they eat secondary consumers and are also called supercarnivores.
-The decomposers, which feed on what are the waste, remains and excrement of other living beings.

In addition to all the above, it is worth knowing another series of data of great interest in the matter of trophic relationships:
-There are species that have the peculiarity that they can feed on more than one trophic level.
-It is necessary to know that there are species that have the uniqueness of being part of different trophic levels.
-It is essential to know that the damage caused to them at one level and even its destruction could lead to dangerous and great consequences at the other levels.

Trophic relationshipsThe relations that exist between these levels are called trophic relationships. It is possible to distinguish between two major trophic relationships: food chain and the food web.

It is called the food chain or food chain to the linear sequence that is established between consumers, producers and decomposers. This chain shows who eats whom: an organism feeds on the one preceding it in the chain and, in turn, serves as food for the organism that follows it.

The food webInstead, it refers to the interrelationships that exist between the different species that make up the trophic levels. The food web, therefore, goes beyond a line or sequence, but is more complex.

Let’s look at some trophic relationships that occur in the food chain. The rabbit, for example, feeds on plants and it serves as food for certain snakes. These snakes, which eat rabbits, are eaten by eagles. The food chain, in this case, would be the following: Plants -> Rabbits -> Snakes -> Eagles.

In the case of the food web, it refers to the set of different food chains found in a ecosystem. This scheme is not linear and is usually represented as a pyramid. Returning to the previous example, an insect can eat the same plants as the rabbit but not be part of the mentioned chain.

Likewise, there is what is known as trophic classification, which leads to classify animals based on the way they eat. Thus, it establishes the groups:
-Pytophages, which eat vegetables.
-Carnivores, which eat other animals.
-Detritivores, which feed on remains.
-Coprophages, which take excrement or feces.
-Saprophagous, which ingest decomposing matter.
-Carroñeros, who feed on the remains of dead animals.